Best Pulley System for Home Gym: Complete Budget Kits

Illustrative Bells of Steel portable cable pulley components

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The best budget pulley system for a home gym starts with a suitable existing anchor. The Bells of Steel Cable Pulley is the lower-cost complete high-pulley kit here at $57.99. For a manufacturer-specified high/low combination, compare two Bells kits at $115.98 with Spud Super Econo Upper + Low at $279.98. These subtotals assume you already own compatible plates and an approved support.

US manufacturer prices and listed variants checked October 19, 2026. Prices exclude tax and any delivery charges. Amazon offers may differ. Comparisons are based on manufacturer specifications and published product information.

Check exact Bells of Steel kit on Amazon

Complete pulley kits compared

This guide covers manufacturer-designed portable kits. A bare pulley wheel is a component, a cable attachment is a handle, and a functional trainer is a complete machine. For a guided carriage or integrated tower, use our cable-machine comparison.

Swipe or scroll the table to compare all columns.

Configuration Manufacturer subtotal Included loading setup / cable Rating and ratio Avoid when…
Bells of Steel Cable Pulley — one kit
Manufacturer: Bells kit specifications · kit assembly instructions
$57.99 Pulley, mounting strap, cable, weight horn/loading strap, handle, hardware and 3 carabiners; 77.4 in cable 440 lb listed capacity; ratio not stated in checked specifications You need low-row routing from this one purchase or lack an approved support.
Bells of Steel — two-kit high/low route $115.98 Two complete kits; manufacturer describes linking two for low rows/curls Do not add two 440 lb ratings; combined-system rating not separately stated You expect a guided weight carriage or independently adjustable dual towers.
Spud Super Econo Upper Tricep/Lat
Manufacturer: Spud upper system specifications and use description
$139.99 75 in cable, 18 in loading pin for Olympic plates, short ab/tricep strap, pulley and 2 carabiners 550 lb manufacturer rating; published 1:1 ratio Your rack height/layout does not suit the standard cable.
Spud Upper + Super Econo Low
Manufacturer: required upper system · separate low system
$279.98 Upper kit plus 75 in low cable, pulley, 22 in stump strap, Deluxe Hamstinger and 2 more carabiners Low kit also lists 550 lb; this does not raise the support’s rating You planned to buy the $139.99 low kit alone: it requires the upper kit.

These variants were available in the manufacturer feeds when checked. Bells’ rendered page also contained a generic “Unavailable” label alongside its add-to-cart offer; verify the current offer before payment. Manufacturer subtotals are not Amazon prices or delivered quotes.

Why the MIKOLO kit is not a current buy pick

The exact Lat & Lift Cable Pulley System was $129.99 and sold out on MIKOLO’s page and variant feed. Its materials also conflict: the product copy lists 450 lb, one graphic says 330 lb and a separate spec page says 280 lb. We do not transfer the cable’s advertised 2,000 lb figure to the assembled system. Until availability and the exact model’s rating are reconciled, choose from the clearer options above.

Choose by the complete configuration

High pulls and pushdowns on a budget: start with one Bells kit. Low rows as well: budget for the maker’s two-kit route. Spud’s matched system: buy Upper first, or Upper + Low together; the Low purchase alone has no independent loading basket.

Check Bells kit contents on AmazonCheck Spud Super Econo High Low Combo

Mounting, plate compatibility and cable travel

A pulley’s capacity does not rate your anchor. Bells specifies a power rack or stand-alone pull-up bar and illustrates its supplied hanging strap. Spud’s standard cable is designed around 6–7 ft rack heights and uses its loop-cinch mounting system. Check both the kit instructions and the support manufacturer’s approval for the direction and amount of external loading.

Do not infer permission to use a doorway bar, ceiling joist, wall screw or furniture from a general “home gym” label. If your support is not covered by the manufacturers’ instructions, obtain their approval or select a different system. This guide does not design structural anchors.

Bells of Steel supplied mounting strap and loading assembly with cable length and travel checks
Actual Bells of Steel manufacturer photos with WOD Fever overlays. The listed 1,965 mm / 77.4-inch cable length is not usable handle stroke. Use the supplied strap and maker-approved support, then check both the handle path and loading-assembly lift. Bells of Steel source, checked October 19, 2026. Tap the image for a full-size view.

No verified maximum usable stroke is supplied here for these kits. Measure the planned handle path and the loading assembly’s available lift against the manufacturer’s actual configuration. The load must remain clear of the floor, frame and pulley throughout the movement. A 75-inch cable does not provide 75 inches of exercise travel.

Spud’s published 1:1 ratio describes ideal displacement: a foot of handle travel corresponds to a foot of load travel in its documented arrangement. It does not guarantee that measured hand resistance equals plate weight after friction. Bells does not state a ratio in the checked product specifications; we do not infer one solely from the number of supplied pulleys.

Loading pin or loading strap?

Spud specifies an 18-inch loading pin for Olympic plates. That is a component length, not a verified 18-inch stackable-plate allowance. Bells calls its included component a weight horn; its kit/manual show a webbing-style plate-loading component. Do not assume either uses the rigid steel pin shown in an unrelated marketplace kit. Check your plate opening against the supplied loading component and fittings before buying.

Required parts and honest complete-cost totals

Swipe or scroll the table to compare all columns.

Basket Purchase together Owned prerequisite or extra purchase Minimum kit subtotal
Budget high 1 × Bells Cable Pulley kit Suitable rack/pull-up support, compatible plates and clear exercise space $57.99
Budget high/low 2 × Bells Cable Pulley kits, routed as the maker instructs Suitable high and low attachment locations on approved support; compatible plates $115.98
Spud high 1 × Super Econo Upper kit Suitable rack/support for the supplied 75 in cable; Olympic plates $139.99
Spud high/low 1 × Upper + 1 × Low kit Manufacturer-supported high/low mounting; Olympic plates $279.98

Delivered setup cost = kit subtotal + missing support/plates + any maker-required cable or hardware + delivery + tax. Spud offers custom cable lengths for an extra charge; no current custom quote was verified. An ankle cuff, long lat bar or alternate grip is optional unless your chosen exercise requires it. Buy the kit’s necessary configuration first, then use our cable-attachment guide to choose a useful handle.

If you own neither a suitable support nor plates, compare the complete purchase with a dedicated cable machine before treating the kit price as a bargain. Portable pulleys also require setup and a freely moving loading assembly; a fixed machine may better suit frequent exercise changes.

Home gym pulley questions

Can one kit do high and low exercises?

Do not assume it. The Bells manufacturer describes two linked kits for its low-row setup. Spud explicitly requires its Upper system with the Low add-on. Follow the exact configuration rather than improvising extra anchors.

Is a kit the same as a cable tower?

No. These kits use your support and plates. Towers and integrated machines supply a frame, cable routing and often a guided carriage or weight stack. They have different costs, clearance needs and adjustment methods.

Should I choose the largest advertised capacity?

Only after the exact configuration, plate fit, usable travel and support are resolved. A cable-component strength claim or kit rating does not certify the entire installed system.

Sources and model checks

Manufacturer listings and instructions checked October 19, 2026. Dimensions and capacities below are manufacturer statements, not WOD Fever measurements or independent load tests.

  • Bells of Steel Cable Pulley: contents, 77.4-inch cable and two-kit route
  • Bells of Steel PAT-SG assembly manual: parts and illustrated mounting
  • Spud Super Econo Upper: included components, rack heights and 1:1 ratio
  • Spud Super Econo Low: required upper system and included parts
  • MIKOLO exact kit: sold-out state and conflicting product copy/graphic
  • MIKOLO separate specifications: 280 lb statement

← Back to all guides